## TERRELL COUNTY BOARD POLICY ORGANIZATION/BOARD MEMBER METHOD OF ELECTION

Descriptive Code: ABCA
Date: 2/8/2010
Rescinds Code: ABCA
Date Issued: 1/10/1994

The Terrell County Board of Education shall be composed of five members. All members shall be elected by the qualified electors from each of five education (election) districts.

All members of the Board of Education shall be elected for four-year terms. The term shall begin on January 1<sup>st</sup> following the regular election for the position held at the same time as other municipal elections in Terrell County and shall expire on the last day of December at the end of the elected term.

A chairperson, vice chairperson, and legal counsel are nominated and chosen by the board to serve for the upcoming calendar year.

The procedure for elections shall be accordance with 3843 Ga. Laws 1987, as amended from time to time, and Title 21 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated, entitled "Elections," as now and hereafter amended.